top of page

RECENT POSTS: 

When the Thiessen's came

Lucy’s point of view…:

“They're here!" shouted someone, I forget who. Glancing out the window I saw Caleb's funny looking truck making its way down the drive way.

"Sure enough.” I thought.

So, I slipped on my tattered jacket and hurried out, followed by "What if Abby isn't there?”

"Haha," I thought. For I had asked Jodi if Abby was coming and she said "DON'T TELL SUNDAY!" which I took as a yes. I crossed the creek in time to see Abby struggle through the fence, and once on my side she asked "Are you surprised?"

"No," I said, "no." Well actually I didn't say it twice, but it would be rather boring to just say 'No. I said.' But where was I? Ah yes, but she said nothing more for at that moment Sunday came charging forward. After a series of assorted greetings, they walked off blabbing their heads off. Jude arrived, and he and Caleb went on talking too, but I don't know what they said. We walked up to the house, and I guess we went inside for soon after we found ourselves seated about the living room eating, what were we eating again...? Oh right, ham sandwiches. But, too bad for you, I don’t remember what all happened after that, so you will remain clueless for the rest of your life, come to think of it, so will I. Oh, and then, us five? Yeh I think there was five of us, we all crammed into the Yukon after unlocking the door with some form of stick, and drove off. To Chamberlain, we got the mail, AND!!(this is the important part) I got three letters! imagine that!! I must be pretty popular. But, that didn’t have anything to do with it, so after that we drove along till we reached a certain place, Jude’s boss’s place. Because for some odd reason the boys wanted to look at Jude’s truck which he is going to buy from his boss, I don’t know why they wanted to see it, it looked like a normal everyday truck to me. And black, every truck is black!! Its so annoying. So, after we looked at it, the boys went out to look at all the boss’s other trucks, so, us girls not extremely entertained by staring at trucks, amused ourselves by writing and making snow angels in the snow. Then, once we bored of that, we began walking around and around the trucks making tons of footprints. Then, we left.

But since that had nothing to do with anything I will continue, lets see….ah, the puzzle. I don’t rightly know who’s idea it was to bring out a thousand piece puzzle, but I can tell you for sure it was a bad idea, whoever had it. We sat for hours, barely able to hold our heads up, watching Jude and Abby place piece after piece in its rightful spot in the puzzle. Truth be known, I did get around three pieces in, Sunday got about five or so. I don’t know if Caleb got any in but he might have put in ten, at the most. However, Abby was like lightning, her hands flying about in all directions making the scrambled pieces form a picture. Jude was slower but he got about half the puzzle finished. Finally, at around midnight or so we all fell asleep so we decided the best thing to do was go to bed, so we did.

So lets mosey on to the next day, we woke, and sat around till Guthrey came, then we sat around some more, so amusing. Then, us girls went on a sort of walk round about the place, and then we went to Caleb’s truck, (by that time the boys were there getting ready to go to the lake to sled.) and Abby got her skates, and then we walked all the way back to the house and Sunday and I got our skates. Then we went along back by the beaver dam and began to skate, at least Sunday and I did, Abby..well, she didn’t exactly skate. More like she did odd things making herself fall down. She must have fallen down about twenty times and I laughed so hard I couldn’t watch anymore. So after she finished her falling down spree we decided the best thing to do now was soak our skates in the water, such odd ideas people come up with, so we walked along through the water until we reached a place where the water wasn’t, and then we skated. And then we went back and sat around until the boys came back(editors note: At this time Sunday made a cheese ball.) and then we played games.

And then we decided to go to the Craik rink to actually skate. So we all (us kids) climbed into Jude’s cramped truck and were very cramped until we reached the rink. We skated about, and the Denzins minus Charles and Matthew came, and the Martins came, and we skated some more. And we went home. It was all quit thrilling. Now, I’m thinking that the next day was the day they were going to leave, and thank goodness there was a blizzard. So we played games all that day, and Abby was slightly ill the whole time, poor Abby, and we played monopoly, and Caleb wanted my property, who knows why, I wasn’t making any money from it, but alas I didn’t sell. And then, we went to bed. And without a moments hesitation fell asleep, at least I did.

But, this is the worst part, the next day came, that sad day which they were to depart. We ate breakfast, and played three rounds of team dutch blitz and then Caleb said, “Hey Abby.” and she said “What?” and Caleb said, “We should go now.” Oh those dreaded words! So we sullenly watched them get the winter gear on, and Abby zipped up her suit case thing, and they walked out the door, truth be known we followed, and they climbed into Caleb’s ugly truck, and leaving only half the road behind them they were gone. And we never saw them again, yet. And poor Charlie howled as they left.

Ending.

Sunday’s point of view:

Well, since Lucy’s has almost thoroughly exhausted this story, I shan’t have to write so much :)

Now the person who said, “ What if Abby isn’t there” was me because everyone was trying to keep the whole thing a secret from me in order to get me back for surprising Abby in September. I say trying, for I suspected that she was going to come and confirmations of my suspicions kept appearing everywhere I turned. However, I still had my doubts so I peered out the window until I spotted Abby and then I ran, ran, ran as fast as I could, to greet her. Needless to say we were both quite overjoyed :)

We had such the most glorious time playing game after game after game. First we played our traditional Apples to Apples, and did two 1000 piece puzzles, then once Guthrey got there the next day we played Domino's, Tile Rummy, 3 Up 3 Down, Dutch Blitz, Scrabble, and Monopoly.

On Thursday in the evening we drove to the Craik rink and listened to, “The Sound of Silence” by Simon and Garfunkel(my new favourite song) and some other songs which I’ve never heard, while we drove. The Denzins met us there and our friends the Martins were also at the rink so we all had a joyful time skating around and around. The boys may have played hockey of sorts I’m not sure. There wasn’t enough hockey sticks for a real game but I successfully stole the puck from Caleb with the things kids push around. You know, the things kids like me learn to skate with ;)

That night we stayed up until 2ish playing games, it was all very fun.

Sadly the next day Abby did not feel well, I felt very sorry for her but she said she still had a good time.

I can’t know what else to write except that it was probably one of the most fun times I’ve had in a long time!

Many thanks go to Jake and Elsie for making my week and letting Abby come and to Caleb for bringing her along!

( Abby is uploading most of the pictures for us )

Abby's point of view:

Once upon a time, me and Caleb left the Hepburn's place at 7:30 am on Wednesday, Dec 28, 2016 on a that dark and cold morning.

We arrived thereupon at the Hamm household a tad after noon struck, and thank goodness, because I was hungry.

Almost immediately after Caleb shut of his truck, a Lucy ran out the door, followed by a Sunday!

Alas, Sunday was not surprised to see me, as she was supposed to be.

I will not mention names, but it seems someone has blabbed; but I shall not hold grudges, as Sunday seemed just as happy to see me as if it were a surprise.

As Lucy stated, me and Sunday blabbed our heads off until we reached the house. Upon entering the house, Jackie saw me, and squeezed me heartily in what we nowadays call a hug.

Lucy has taken up almost everything there is to say, so I will be brief.

We sat in the living room and chatted until lunch nearly got cold, or perhaps it was never warm.

Me, Sunday, Lucy, Caleb and Jude went to Chamberlain to get mail, then went look at Jude's very nice truck, which the boys talked and talked about for ages, thus us girls got bored, so we walked around the room and wondered what kind of instrument a vehicle part was, and how to make a sound come out of it, and played with a bent sword that was far too heavy to be of much use to such weak creatures as girls. We went outside, and me and Lucy wrote our names in the snow as well as a hi and hello and a snow angel or two. After that, since the boys still did not tire of discussing tire treads, and who-knows-what else, us girls walked and walked around Jude's bosses trucks, doing our best to make it look like Jude was attempting auto theft (btw: it did not work).

Soon after, we finally did leave, and went back home, where we did much more chatting, and eating supper. Afterwards, we finished a puzzle that Jude had started, then we started another puzzle. For hours and hours we puzzled, determined to finish before going to bed, but, to our dismay, one by one, we were getting far too tired, until it was only Jude and I who were ever determined, but upon a suggestion, we went to bed, deciding to finish in the morning.

The very next morning (Thursday) we awoke. The boys were not yet inside, so me and Sunday tried to hurry and finish the puzzle before they got in, but I put down scarcely 15 pieces before they marched in the door, so we finished the puzzle all together. It took about two hours, and we grew quite frantic. You see, we had only grass left to do, but we seemed to be missing 14 pieces. We gave up after a thorough search, nearly ready to burst into tears.

We plopped ourselves down onto the couch, defeated, and began chattering, then out of the blue, Quin runs up to Caleb with a tea strainer filled with 14 grassy puzzle pieces. You can imagine our great joy as we ran to the table and with such a flurry, placed the remaining pieces down, and not but a minute later, Guthrey, our entertainer, walks through the door.

We had German pancakes for breakfast, and then we played many games, which Jude, or Jude's team, won all of, except for the last Dutch Blitz game.

We did not do as much chattering as the day before, since Guthrey came he kept us all quite busy playing game after game. The boys went snowmobiling, so us girls put our skates on and skated on the overflowed creek. I did enough falling for all of us and then some, but it was a smashing time anyhow. We skated down the little waterfall, on which I did one of my falls and cut myself on the terrible ice. Later on, we went to Craik, as was mentioned, and skated in the indoor arena there, and to my great joy, the Denzin's were there! We had a lot of fun, then went back home and played more games. We (that is, Caleb) were planning to leave the next day, so we could go to the Lawrensons, but, oh joy! We looked at the forecast, and it was to blizzard, and so we did not leave the next day.

I rather didn't feel great the next morning, and so I was to take Magnesium, 7 vitamin c pills, and some wine and grape juice throughout the day.

The boys built a bonfire while we did the dishes, and then we went out to the bonfire too.

Afterwards, we played Farm-opoly, but half through it, I laid down a few times in between to prevent myself from puking all over my friends and the game.

The next day, we were to leave, such a sad day as anyone had ever seen! We ate breakfast, then Caleb told me to pack my things up, and so I zipped up my suitcase and we played on last Dutch Blitz game, and then departed, quite heartbroken that it was over.

Thank you Hamms for the awesome time! I hope I did not get anyone sick, and if I did, I hope you are not mad.

The pictures are not all in order, by the way.

SEARCH BY TAGS: 

No tags yet.
bottom of page