top of page

A Homeschool Dream

You all know I am homeschooled, and have been all my life.

Many times I dream/think about when I will someday become a wife and mother. What I want most for my kids is that they will grow up to love the Lord their God with all their hearts, minds and souls. Right now, most of us are light hearted and merry at the thought of parenthood, right?

Really though, it is so much bigger than we realize. In giving us children, God is placing these precious, priceless souls into our care and we are to be responsible for them. That is an incredible concept, really! Parenthood is not to be taken lightly.

When we become parents, we are given the responsibility of raising our children. Homeschooling really means only that. To educate in the home. But it allows you to do so much more.

Having your children at home allows you to teach them truth, right from wrong, to teach them and learn with them and build strong, lasting relationships with each other. Homeschooling (to us) is preparing for life. Different people homeschool differently, for different reasons, but this is my take on it.

The most important part of homeschooling though, is not math, reading, spelling etc. It is teaching your children to follow Jesus Christ, the Creator and Savior of the world.

Psalm 119:9-16

9 How can a young man cleanse his way? By taking heed according to Your word. 10 With my whole heart I have sought You; Oh, let me not wander from Your commandments! 11 Your word I have hidden in my heart, That I might not sin against You. 12 Blessed are You, O Lord! Teach me Your statutes. 13 With my lips I have declared All the judgments of Your mouth. 14 I have rejoiced in the way of Your testimonies, As much as in all riches. 15 I will meditate on Your precepts, And contemplate Your ways. 16 I will delight myself in Your statutes; I will not forget Your word.

These are some other articles on homeschooling by some good friends of mine that I recommend reading.

bottom of page